A Small Glimpse

June 25, 2013

Months ago, we found something left behind in the shelter and in reading it we realized an anonymous someone wrote out some of their experience living on the street. I thought it was definitely worth sharing:

download“I am writing this notice in hopes that more people can understand the life of a homeless person. The life a person lives on the streets is a lot of trauma. The life of a man is always trying to make a dollar. The most of my time hustling is buying crack for people. The rest of my time is protecting women who sell their bodies for a living. I met a woman about 8 years  ago one night. I knew her all of about 3 hours. This guy kept trying to take her, when she asked me to help her I did, she got to leave with her money she was making. I got stabbed 5 times by the guy who kept trying to stab her. One time in the chest, once in the stomach, once in the shoulder, 2 times in my right hand. I ended up walking up a street 3 blocks to a store holding my stomach because that cut was the worst. While walking all I could think about was I am dying and I don’t even remember the girl’s name who I protected.
I have been homeless now since 2001 or 2002, I have lived in abandoned houses, I have slept in cars parked at car lots that I found with the doors unlocked. When you want to sleep you will find some place to sleep. The past 4 or 5 years off and on I have been staying in this 2 story abandoned house.
2 or 3 years ago I was so cold that I had to sleep with about 8 covers over my head to stay alive. The air was so cold in the room I was in that it really hurt bad to breathe the cold air.
In this same house at the present February 2013 I have a roommate in the abandoned house on the 2nd floor. It is a full grown wild opossum that I believe given the chance it would bite me and I can’t blame it because it’s a wild animal. I sometimes am asleep and it starts clawing at the walls and then I am wide awake all night.”

 

It’s important to not only look at people’s outsides. When the insides come out we may be surprised to find someone who only needs to be loved.

 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’”

May we be kind to others today in Jesus’ Name.

Leave a Reply

