21 days: one.

September 29, 2011

for the last couple of weeks I have noticed how unhealthy I have been in many facets of life, primarily the most important parts: spiritually, emotionally, and physically. I have made the decision to change these 3 areas as intentionally as I can.

The next 21 days of my life I am going to be a lot less sporadic in seeking the Lord. He is my life source after all, I should spend more of my time worshipping Him in everything that I do and being mindful of the fact that everything I do should be for Him anyway. I long to be saturated in Him, captivated by His Word and by His love for us mere fools, and also I want to be spurred to love as unconditionally as He loves me.

It is so hard for me to rest emotionally, especially in a job where I am constantly approached with other’s problems and trying to solve them, when I know that I can’t do anything of the sort on my own. I am really asking God to teach me how to think and how to handle situations in His way, and to help me unlearn any unhealthy ways of dealing with life happenings that I have picked up along the way.

Physically, who couldn’t afford to be more disciplined? I have dusted off my bike and found some Forrest-worthy running shoes, and am already enjoying biking and running! I ran my first 5k last Saturday in Indiana, it was a fun accomplishment, I hope to do more.

To bring all three of these aspects of life together I am going to do a Daniel-fast-type-diet. I know scripture says not to make a display of fasting so before you totally disown me for publicizing this I will make the disclaimer that I’m not calling this a fast; let’s call it an intentional life change for 21 days (or possibly more) to seek the Lord and be more aware of how I can glorify Him in everything instead of being a slob in many ways.

I am excited to embark on this sort of adventure, because as well as being closer to God I am going to learn to cook and be able to run 5 miles without dying.

Here is a peek at my first dish cooked : stuffed peppers.

One Response to “21 days: one.”

  1. Peggy Leonard Says:

    I hope the peppers didn’t work your stomach over like they do mine! Heartburn!
    Abby, you are doing a good thing at the Mission. Listening to those women and guiding them along a better path is what you are doing. Taking on the burden of their problems is Jesus’s job and he is a mightly warrior! Let him do that!


Leave a Reply

