just to be.

November 30, 2010

I have never understood what it means to have a sabbath. Obviously it is talked of a lot in the bible, “remember the sabbath and keep it holy” that kind of thing, but i always thought i was exempt and that was for the superholy people.

last time we had our college service, the Lord really got ahold of me and told me i need to rest. Good rest to me was going to bed at 10 and waking up at 9, i was wrong. Last week i got sick, so sick that i actually called into work. Not that God made me get sick so i would stay home for an entire 36 hours, but that is what ended up happening. So this week i took all but two days off of work and as always, God was right.

I am reading a Rob Bell book and just stumbled upon this:

“Sabbath is taking a day a week to remind myself that i did not make the world and that it will continue to exist without my efforts.

Sabbath is a day when my work is done, even if it isn’t.

Sabbath is a day when my job is to enjoy. Period.

Sabbath is a day when i am fully available to myself and those i love most

Sabbath is a day when i remember that when God made the world, He saw that it was good.

Sabbath is a day when i produce nothing.

Sabbath is a day when i remind myself i am not a machine. 

Sabbath is a day when at the end i say, ‘i didn’t do anything today’ and i don’t add, ‘and i feel so guilty.’

Jesus wants to heal our souls, wants to give us the shalom of God. And so we have to stop. We have to slow down. We have to sit still and stare out the window and let the engine come to an idle. We have to listen to what our inner voice is saying.”

I definitely don’t have this whole resting thing down, and sometimes it’s hard and frustrating to have to be with yourself all day with no distractions to take your mind off of dealing with you, but it is so beneficial for our spirits.

to sit

and listen.

and just to be.

Leave a Reply

