Faith like a child

September 27, 2010

This morning my friend Kyle, also the worship pastor at journey, sent me a picture that was sent to him of me leading a song yesterday… this picture is so precious and meaningful in a lot of ways:

It is kind of crazy to think that when i was this little girl’s age i had no idea, nor did i even think about, what i was going to do with my life, but i do remember going to church with my family every sunday. I even remember on a sunday night worship service when i was about 8, i opted out of going to child care and sat with my parents so i could listen to the music, and as i looked around i saw people with their hands raised, so i raised mine as i sang, thinking that it is some kind of special adult thing i should do to look more grown up…

Now that i am 20, seemingly an adult of sorts, i am constantly doing things and simplifying the way i think about things so that i can be more child-like. Everything gets so complicated the older we get, but it doesn’t have to be…

“One day children were brought to Jesus in the hope that he would lay hands on them and pray over them. The disciples shooed them off. But Jesus intervened, ‘Let the children alone, don’t prevent them from coming to me. God’s kingdom is made up of people like these.'”  Matthew 19:13-15

Leading worship is one of my favorite things to do, and to think that i can come before the Lord as simply myself (20 years old, childish and adult-like) is really refreshing. I can be who i am because my Maker made me this way.

It’s also amazing to see how God led me right here. In 6th grade at summer camp i met this Kyle Cantrell guy because he and my youth pastor were good friends. All i was then was a crazy 6th grade girl, but so many years later Kyle and i end up at the same church and i ask if i can sing… now i am living out what God made me for, to sit at His feet and bring some friends along with me, and be His child.

4 Responses to “Faith like a child”

  1. lindsayjuarez Says:

    worship was the best part of my sunday! thank you for your honest worship. love you.

    ps let’s do lunch sometime neighbor!

  2. Kat Shinn Says:

    You are simply amazing and I love you dearly – keep on living the life!

  3. Cheve long Says:

    This pic is freaking great.

  4. Susan Seibert Says:

    Wow…awesome! that made my day…reading your blog! thanks and keep singing!


Leave a Reply

