all other ground is sinking sand

July 26, 2010

After almost a week in Oklahoma, i can honestly say i have done everything i wanted to do this summer and am ready to board a plane and go to a little portion of an island in the caribbean where my heart has become so attached… BUT here is a list of things i have done in the last 5 days:

1. seen lots of white people
2. ate strawberries
3. run, bike, swim
4. watched videos of my 2 yr old self with my friends
5. ate cheap chinese food in the ghetto of chickasha
6. made friendship pancakes for the first time in 6 months
7. rode bare back with no shoes
8.  spoke creole to a black baby in walmart
9. listened to delilah
10. made ice cream with my sisters

although all of these things were fabulous, none of them were the reasons, or could even compare to the reason this has been the best summer of my life. i felt like the world was falling out from under me and then God picked me up and set me in a place that had literally been shaken.  As i saw God in the smiles of the patients in the prosthetic lab who walked without crutches for the first time in 6 months, the joy in the eyes of beautiful children who only have God as their Father, and in the amazing people who spend everyday serving the Lord in a country they have not always called “home”, i was truly blessed to be loved and swept away by my Maker.

God placed a firm foundation under my feet. i have learned so much from His Word and His voice and His people, i know that nothing could shake what God has planted. He has so much more in store, and as i have no idea what i am doing next, my world is in His hands. Sometimes it takes a step of faith…

“My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness. i dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ Name…”


One Response to “all other ground is sinking sand”

  1. Amanda Says:

    Oh my love, I love your heart. You are dearly missed here. I cant believe you’ve been gone almost a week! I’m so excited to see how Gods going to use you in this country and I’m so glad I get to see it first hand 🙂 Love you


Leave a Reply

