Give me one dollar.

June 21, 2010

The last few days I have still been hanging out with the Journey team, I love that I am able to serve with them while I am here, they are the best! We took a hike through a village. It was very very thorny, but we got to see a lot of beautiful Haitian countryside. We also went into Port Au Prince to see the damage from the quake. It was terrible, obviously, and seemed like 5 months later more should be done to help the devastation. I was trying to imagine being in one of the buildings or even on the street while the earth was tossing back and forth, I can’t really wrap my head around it.

Otherwise life here at the compound is great. All of the other interns are girls currently and they are a lot of fun! AND they are musical 🙂 we have already had two jam times with guitars and “boxes”, we are going to have a great time together.

One of the main english phrases the people know here is “Give me one dollar”. It is really sad that we have to say no all the time, but they really don’t want the Americans to be seen as money bags, if you give one a dollar you will probably have a crowd around you in about 5 seconds pulling at your clothes asking for everything you have. The phrase also reminds me of growing up. Always asking my parents for whatever caught my eye that I thought I “needed” so much. Mom was good at saying no, but dad usually gave in. So in honor of that, happy fathers day, dad! Thank you for always being so giving and loving with time, money, and everything you have. You are the best!! Hope you are having a great day, I love you 🙂

2 Responses to “Give me one dollar.”

  1. Peggy Leonard Says:

    Glad you got to see some of the countryside.

    I bet that was interesting to walk through the devastated city.Very sad reminders of what PAP went through. We saw some videos from the trip Herschel made down there a few weeks ago and I wanted to cry!

    Dad said he was about to cry also and loves the Father’s day message from you!

  2. Brian Leonard Says:

    Having fun reading your blogs keep it up! Thanks for the Fathers day blog I really had a great day with Lauren, Mom, and Suz, and hey sometimes I say no!
    Miss ya Love ya, DAD


Leave a Reply

